The project is currently in BETA so certain screens or workflows are subject to change.

Start up

Because it is a ClickOnce application the app will do a check for an upgrades at start up. At some point we may move this into the application to allow the user finer control of when to upgrade. If an update is found you will see some of the ClickOnce install windows shown on the Installation page. Once the application is running you will be asked for the web.config of the website you want to administer. That is the configuration file that has all the Membership, Role and Profile providers configured.

Select-Config

If the database has not been initialized you can tick the “Create and initialize databases if they don’t exist” check box. This will not create the database on the database server but it will initialize the tables (Tested with SQL Server 2008). If you check the box and the database has already been initialized it should not wipe out your data, if in doubt always do a backup. It is important to note that if your web.config file is on anther machine and it references any database connections as “localhost” the application is not going to be able to connect to your database.

Once you have selected a valid web.config and clicked load the application will attempt to load the Membership, Role and Profile providers. If it is successful you will be able to see your current list of members and roles on the application dashboard. From here you will be able to view, create, delete users and roles.

If the configuration does not support user roles then the user roles tab will not be visible.

Main

Create users

To create a new user make sure you are viewing the “Users” tab on the main dashboard and click “Create new user”. You will then be presented with the “Create user” window.

CreateUser

Once you have filled out the required fields click “Save”. This will save the new user, if successful the user will now be visible on the dashboard.

Delete users

To delete a user click the delete button next to the users name and click “Yes” on the confirmation box. If the user is deleted successfully the dashboard will be refreshed to reflect the change.

Edit user details and profile properties

To edit a user double click on the uses row in the dashboard view. This will bring up the “User details” window. Here you can change the users details, assign roles and edit profile properties. Currently only simple profile properties are supported but we plan on supporting more complex scenarios as the application improves. When you have finished editing click “Save” and the user, his roles and profile properties will be saved.

User details

Basic user detail entry screen.

User-Details

User profile

The user’s profile tab is only available  if profile provider has been enabled in the config. Here basic system property types can be set but more complex object types are not yet support.

User-Profile

Arrays with basic system types can also be edited but more complex types are not yet supported nor are other IEnumerable types. To edit an array click the button with the ellipsis in the property value column which will open up the the “User profile property” dialog. Here items can be add and remove d, either by clicking the “Remove” button next to the item to be removed or click the “Add new item” button above the grid.

User-Profile-Array

User roles

The user’s roles tab is only available if the role provider has been enabled in the config. Here a users membership to a role can be added or removed.

User-Roles

Create roles

To create a role make sure you are viewing the “Roles” tab on the dashboard and click the “Create new role” button on the top left of the screen. This will bring up the “New role” dialog. Enter a unique name and click save, if successful you will be able to see the new role on the dashboard and you will be able to assign users to the role from the User details window.

CreateRole

Delete roles

To delete a role make sure you are viewing the “Roles” tab on the dashboard and click the delete button next to the role you want to delete and click “Yes” on the confirmation box. If the user is deleted successfully the dashboard will be refreshed to reflect the change.

Last edited Jan 29, 2013 at 5:02 PM by bronumski, version 3

Comments

No comments yet.